Select Page

Category: Regulations

Fishing Regulations in Wyoming

Although one of the largest states in the country, Wyoming is the least populated state, probably also due to its mainly mountainous geography. The state population slightly exceeds half a million people, with the largest city counting for only around 60,000 people. Due to its spread mountain areas, the state manages to offer breathtaking landscapes and a diverse ecosystem including national forests, national forests, fish hatcheries, and wildlife refuges. Wyoming is a quite popular fishing destination, providing plenty of opportunities for all avid fishermen across the country. Its numerous lakes, ponds, and rivers count for numerous fish species and other aquatic wonders waiting to be discovered. If you are planning your next fishing trip in Wyoming, we consider you should be aware of the following rules, regulations, and applied state laws.   License and permit fees Wyoming provides quite affordable fishing rates for all its permits issued to residents. It is recommended you buy a year-round license to have access to all fishing areas. A fishing license for residents costs $24, while a one-day permit is sold for only $6.Nonresidents have to pay nearly $100 for a year-round permit, as well as $14 for a fishing day. By comparison to other states, the fees imposed by the state of Wyoming are significantly larger for nonresidents to the detriment of residents. Also, in order to be declared a resident of...

Read More

Fishing Regulations in Wisconsin

Wisconsin or the land of cheese is one of the most diverse and unique states in the United States, counting for a rich geography. The Wisconsin River is the largest river in the area, providing plenty of leisure activities, including rafting and fishing. Wisconsin also offers plenty of touristic attractions, ranking 3rd in the national tourism industry of the country. The city also counts for numerous lakes and rivers, leading to a highly developed water recreation industry. Thus, fishing represents an important activity in the field, attracting thousands of nonresidents yearly.   Free fishing weekends Since fishing is a highly respected activity in the field, the state offers two free fishing weekends during the 2017 - 2018 period of time for all avid fishermen. During these weekends, fishing permits and licenses are not required, meaning all residents and nonresidents can fish for free, without exceeding the national daily bag limitation. June 3-4 2017 and January 20-21 2018 represent this year’s free fishing weekends for the state of Wisconsin. The following free weekends are calculated depending on the calendar, following this rule: the first consecutive Saturday and Sunday in June, as well as the third Saturday and Sunday in January.   License and permits Fishing licenses and permits vary in price depending on their duration and type of resident. For instance, an annual resident fishing license costs $20, while the...

Read More

Fishing regulations in West Virginia

Being one of the smallest states in the United States, West Virginia also holds the negative record of having the second lowest household incomes from all 50 states. Almost the entire state is covered up by mountains, leaving room to sufficient natural lakes and rivers to exploit. The overall colder climate provides the perfect environment for the development of natural ecosystems, as well as a rich fauna and flora. The biodiversity in the area is rich, and the natural landscapes are merely breathtaking. West Virginia is also one of the most popular fishing destinations both for residents and nonresidents. Most of the 400,000 issued licenses for hunting and fishing come from residents. The total population of the state is around 1.8 million people, meaning that more than close to a quarter of the total Mountaineers hold a valid hunting and fishing license.   Licenses and permits Licenses and permits are only issued for the calendar year, meaning they are not effective from the first day of validation, but only from January 1st. The fishing year-round license for residents costs under $20, while a five-day fishing permit is issued for $8. Nonresidents will pay an annual fee of $37 for fishing, while a one-day fishing permit can be issued for only $3. By comparison to other states, West Virginia’s fees for hunting and fishing licenses are amongst the lowest, meaning...

Read More

Fishing Regulations in Vermont

Vermont holds a few personal, national records, including being the second-least populous state in the United States or having the least populous state capital throughout the country. Vermont is also the largest producer of maple syrup in the country and was voted the safest state in the country last year. Vermont is also known as being a rich state, with plenty of luxurious properties own by America’s richest moguls. Its wonderful natural landscapes combined with a pleasant climate determined some of the richest people in the United States own large properties, villas, and country houses in this state. Vermont is also a quite popular fishing destination, featuring plenty of ponds and lakes filled with numerous fish species. Here is everything you need to know about fishing in this area:   Licenses and permits Similar to all other American states, Vermont imposes its own license and permit fees for residents and nonresidents. Prices vary depending on the age and the type of license issued. For instance, a five-year fishing license for residents costs around $124, while nonresidents will have to pay twice as much, meaning $249. Residents can also opt for a three-day fishing license for the cost of $11, while nonresidents will have to pay $23. Nonresidents also have the option of a one-day permit for $21 or a seven-day fishing permit for $31. Given the quite high prices,...

Read More

Fishing Regulations in Utah

Utah is a quite dense state, featuring all major geographical areas, from arid deserts to pine forests. Utah is also the home of numerous popular ski resorts due to its temperate climate. It is also the state of contrasts, with plenty semi-arid and desert climate places, as well as rainy parts and cold winters. The state’s largest city, Salt Lake City, is also located near the largest lake in the area, the Great Salt Lake, which was also called America’s Dead Sea. Believe it or not, Utah provides plenty accommodation and fishing opportunities for avid fishermen, so you should give this state a chance on your next fishing trip. If you already planned a trip here and you want to know more about the local fishing regulations, here is everything important you need to be aware of.   Licenses and permits Just like any other state, Utah offers its own licenses and fishing permits for different costs for residents and nonresidents. By comparison to other states, Utah’s fees are slightly larger, but it is also because the fishing possibilities are more reduced. A year-round fishing license for people ages 18-64 is $34 for residents and $75 for nonresidents, whereas a combination license for nonresidents over 18 years old will cost you $85. Nonresidents also have the possibility of purchasing a three-day fishing license for $24 or a seven-day fishing...

Read More